Typology and the spectrum of Neurological processing styles

I’m a neuro-nontypical processor. In other words I’m a right brain dominate dyslexic type. In reading about Typology I didn’t see that mentioned as a type but I think it is(I’m biased😉). I grew up being told that I was too much of this and not enough of that. The public education system left me traumatized to some degree. By the time I graduated high school I’d developed a complex. Far too many teachers coming from a narrow approach to educating kids unintentionally did damage to those of us that processed information differently from the heard. Constantly being treated like there was something wrong with me by most teachers made me want to check out. Fortunately I was gifted in music and fluent with five instruments as well as advanced in my spatial capacity and better at advance drafting than the valedictorian of my class. Sports also helped me. Being a runner, swimmer, and cyclist, martial artist helped me develop self-esteem as well.

Since I didn’t have the grades to get into a university I went to community college. To my surprise I came alive and excelled because I had teachers that weren’t so narrow minded. I was enrolled in a writing class that was considered a pre-college level helper class and after I’d turned in a paper I wrote the teacher asked to speak with me. 'Why am I taking this class", he asked? “You scored higher than most on the College English Placement test and in reading your paper it’s clear to me that you’re wasting your time in this class and should be enrolled in more advanced classes.” I was shocked! The same with math. I did terrible in high school yet aced algebra and Trig in college.